Home > British Culture, TV > The Comforting Sound of British Sitcoms

The Comforting Sound of British Sitcoms

Birds of a Feather

Do you ever find old British sitcoms on Canadian TV, and leave them on despite the fact you think they’re crud and you never used to watch them in the UK? I do.

I’m currently writing this with Birds of a Feather going on in the background. A bad 1990’s sitcom about two working class women living in a posh suburb off the back of their imprisoned husband’s loot. I never watched it in the UK, but I find it somehow soothing to have it’s familiarity playing away as the backdrop to a cold Canadian evening. Next up is One Foot in the Grave, which, in my humble opinion is much better.

Keeping Up Appearances is another that gets left on, despite me never having watched it 20 years ago in Britain, and in spite of the fact I don’t like it at all. Coronation Street on a Sunday morning has become a ritual in our house (I know, it’s not a sitcom, but it may as well be). I never actually watch it, it’s just on. When in Britain, it gets switched off.

It must be the security that familiarity brings. I long for the day that Del Boy, Rodders and Grandad (or Uncle) turn up on my Canadian TV screen. Now there will be a Britcom that will get my full attention.

  1. May 11, 2011 at 8:26 pm

    For god’s sake man get a UK IP address. Go to my site and click on the My Private Network banner and pay 5 quid a month. You get access to all the latest stuff on the BBC iPlayer and channel 4OD. Match of day day, the football league show (See Walsall highlghts every week, comedies, soaps etc. I have subscribed for months now and it is great. I no longer have any trace of Canadian TV just an IP address and Netflix.

  2. May 23, 2011 at 11:24 am

    I checked that out – looks good. (You can see this at http://www.britclub.ca for anyone reading this and not familiar). I have free TV through the building, and I just don’t watch enough to care to be honest. In fact, I can’t remember the last time I sat down and actually watched a show. I’m usually doing something else while the TV is going on in the background.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

