Home > British Food > Yorkshire Puddin’

Yorkshire Puddin’

Egg, milk, flour. Mix it up. Pour it in a baking tray of some kind (one of those shallow ones with a bunch of little cylinders punched out to hold your mix). Stick it in a pre-heated oven for about 30 minutes at 375°F. Voila – Yorkshire Puddin’. If the English can cook it, anyone can. Can’t they?

Now, let’s pretend you’re an American, and pretty handy in the kitchen. Your man loves your food. It’s his birthday. You want to do something ‘nice’ for him. He’s English… proper English, from England, accent, loves football, bad teeth – the works. He often talks about Yorkshire Puddin’. In fact, he goes all misty-eyed when he recounts his favourite Yorkshire Puddin’ experiences. What better? You’re a good cook. How hard can it be?

What a Yorkshire Pudding should look like

What a Yorkshire Pudding should look like

So, you jump on the interweb thingy, Yahoogle “Yorkshire Puddin’ Recipes”, and as if by magic, you’re on your way to creating a masterpiece which will not only make your man a very happy year older, but it will also feed you both.

A word of caution here: if you are an American (or any other nationality for that matter), and you are trying to make a Yorkshire Puddin’ without having actually seen one before… (you know where I’m going with this don’t you?)… make sure the online recipe includes a picture of what it’s supposed to look like.

Fast forward a few hours. Your man arrives home after a hard day of drinking coffee and browsing the web at ‘work’. You greet him with a hug and a smile that looks like you’ve borrowed Jim Carey’s mouth for the day. Your excitement is obvious – and why shouldn’t you be excited? Your man is gonna LOVE this.

“What is it?” he enquires with a puzzled look. As you deflate faster than a whoopee cushion under a Sumo wrestler, you reply: “it… it’s… a… a…Yorkshire Puddin’… I made it for your birthday.” A moment of silence is pierced with a roar of laughter. Birds launch themselves from tree branches, rodents scramble underground, forest animals scatter.

My wife has since seen, and tasted Yorkshire Puddin’. I think she understands my mirth now. She hasn’t tried to make this fine British delicacy since. Five years later, I am finally allowed to share this:

Kerri's Yorkshire Pudding

Please share your Yorkshire Pudding disasters to help my wife feel better.

 

  1. February 9, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    Awww! I have so had that moment, but not with a Yorkshire Puddin’ or any other Puddin’ for that matter! I am just still trying to get the definition of pudding meaning so many different types of things! It’s like calling paint a crayon just because it makes colors….ugh! Tell your wife that we are American and will just have to deal with our flaws. However, in the blog that inspired my search of the meaning of pudding, the author said you can get them frozen at the grocery! Maybe she can have some shipped! 😀

    • Jason Broadhurst
      February 9, 2011 at 2:09 pm

      I think us Brits just call things a ‘Pudding’ to confuse Americans… and hey, look, it’s working! 🙂 Frozen Yorkshires, I can’t imagine they taste good. I don’t think I’ve ever (knowingly) tried one.

  2. immodiumabuser
    February 16, 2011 at 4:25 pm

    Pretty funny story. I guess it is the thought that counts, but still very funny.

    • February 16, 2011 at 4:30 pm

      It’s definitely the thought that counts. And, she’s a great cook, really! She did a wonderful cheesecake for me one year, and the best Fish and Chips in Montreal are produced in our house. Glad you liked the story!

  3. February 19, 2011 at 6:02 pm

    Ah the yorkshire pudding, it’s one of those cooking skills that is very difficult to master. Either if they turn out perfectfly formed or a complete fail, they still always taste good.

    • February 20, 2011 at 9:32 am

      I’ll take your word for it. I confess, I could not bring myself to try this one! 🙂
      Thanks for reading and commenting.

  4. Christina
    June 25, 2011 at 6:21 pm

    Just tried to make them…oh my goodness, they rose, I did everything according to the recipe, but burnt the first pan I put in the oven, then I used one of those big 6 muffin tins and poured the batter in…like I said they did rise, but were solid through and no air puffed into them…my husband loved them, but then he married me so he must be insane!

    • June 26, 2011 at 9:16 am

      I’m thinking of starting a Yorkshire Pudding support group Christina. I think there is a need!

      Hey, but you got them to rise – and hubby ate them (and liked them) – they couldn’t have been all bad!!

  1. April 3, 2011 at 3:01 pm
  2. April 3, 2011 at 3:04 pm

Leave a Reply

