Home > Canadian Cities, Geography, Hockey, Sports, Trains, Work > The Last Day Walk

The Last Day Walk

Skyscraper view from Place du Canada

Yesterday was my last day at my current place of work. For the last 10 months or so I have traveled to my office in the heart of downtown Montreal every day.

The thing I will miss most (apart from the extremely rewarding work and wonderful people, obviously), is the walk I take to and from the train station. The train journey itself is nothing special, and I have many gripes about the train service that I’m sure will become evident in future posts. But, after half an hour on the train, I have a 10-15 minute walk to the office. Days of -30 C with wind chill excepted, I have loved that walk.

When I get off the train at Lucien-L’Allier, I am immediately thrust into an area adjacent to the Bell Centre that celebrates the centenary of the Montreal Canadiens (in 2009). In the morning, I join hundreds of others as we jostle into the city through this area, which is adorned with statues, plaques, and engraved paving bricks.

The view from the corner of Avenue des Canadiens-de-Montreal and Rue Peel. Place du Canada is in the foreground, the Sun Life building to the left, and Place Ville-Marie juts out from behind the Cathédrale Marie-Reine-du-Monde.

Then I turn right and pass the beautiful Windsor Station building. I know nothing about architecture, but it looks gothic in its style, to me. The St George’s Anglican Church comes up next on the left, and beyond it Place du Canada. From here, at the corner of  Avenue des Canadiens-de-Montreal and Rue Peel, I can see the tall buildings of the Marriott Château Champlain and 1000 de La Gauchetière to the right, the Queen Elizabeth Hotel pokes out from behind the Cathédrale Marie-Reine-du-Monde in front of me. And the Sun Life Building is to the left. Other skyscrapers, including  Place Ville-Marie jut out from behind this sky scape. It is one of my favourite views in Montreal.

In the evenings, as I take the return journey, I get a front-on view of the Cathédrale Marie-Reine-du-Monde, dressed in strategic lighting. And, as I pass all the aforementioned buildings in reverse, they too are lit to good effect.

I have rarely taken this route without appreciating its beauty. But, just to make sure I don’t forget, I was compelled to take a camera with me on my last day of work.

The Cathédrale Marie-Reine-du-Monde. 1000 de La Gauchetière is peaking out behind.

  1. Lori
    February 18, 2011 at 11:46 am

    the pictures are wonderful and your words make it even more beautiful! i thought montreal was a nice place when i visited years ago, but your photos and descriptive tales…..well, let’s just say, i see why you’ve made this your home 🙂
    congrats on the career!

    • February 18, 2011 at 11:51 am

      Wow! Thanks Lori (*blush*). 🙂

      Montreal is a truly great city for sure. It’s architecture is only a part of what makes it special. I will miss that walk.

  2. Maureen Cant
    February 18, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    I used to walk that exact same walk when I worked downtown! Just loved the “Mary Queen of the World” building. So beautiful all lit up when I was on my way back to Windsor Station. The Habs at that time were still at the forum on Atwater and Ste-Catherine so I didn’t get to enjoy that same experience. You’ve just brought back so many memories with this piece:) Thanks for the memories!!

    • February 19, 2011 at 8:48 am

      It’s a great building Moe. And it’s an awesome walk. I reckon I must have took 50 photos in a ten minute walk. I couldn’t put them all here. Windsor Station is another of my favourites. Why did they stop using that place? I’m guessing it was to make way for the Bell Centre?

  3. February 19, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    Looks like a beautiful walk! Good luck at your new job!

    • February 19, 2011 at 3:33 pm

      Thank you. I think the new job will be more exciting than the new walk! I don’t think you’ll see photos of the new route up here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

