Home > British Culture, Monarchy, Sports > Olympic Pride

Olympic Pride

Like many around the world, I have been taking in the Olympics in recent days. There is an added interest for us expats this time around, with London as the host city. I have to confess to a swelling of pride as I took in the opening ceremony – a swelling that worked its way right up to my throat and was so uncomfortable that it brought a tear to my eye.

A Britain I know was presented in an excellent opening ceremony.
Photography by Matt Lancashire, via Wikipedia.org

The first Olympics I can remember watching is Los Angeles 1984, and every two years since I’ve tuned in to the opening ceremony (I also make sure to take in the winter version). I have always enjoyed the grandeur and pomposity of the show and the parade of nations. But I can’t really recall any of those ceremonies. Opening ceremonies don’t stick in your mind like Daley Thompson pole vaulting, or Linford Christie winning the 100 metres, or Sir Steve Redgrave taking Gold again.

I think this one will stay with me though. The reason is that the narrative was recognizable. It conjured images and sounds of British history and culture that I am very familiar with. From working men in an industrial setting to the comedy of Mr. Bean. From the Eastenders theme tune to the Arctic Monkeys and Hey Jude. James Bond, the NHS, Chelsea Pensioners, Shakespeare, Chariots of Fire, Cricket and Her Majesty herself. I thought the World Wide Web was an American thing, but no, that was born in Britain too.

Yes, watching the opening ceremony gave a real sense of pride. It will live with me for a long time.  Good job Danny Boyle.

The BBC has a pretty good photo gallery of the opening ceremony, here: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/in-pictures-19020830

  1. July 31, 2012 at 6:21 pm

    It is good to see you blogging again! I saw a portion of the opening, and yes, it WAS certainly larger than life! What I didn’t understand was the 100 Mary Poppins falling from the sky? I was kind of disappointed for a moment thinking that Disney had somehow “bought” the opening of the Olympics. It was very cool beyond, though. LOVED the Mr. Bean segment! Congrat’s on the mega dose of patriotic happiness! 😀

  2. August 2, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    Thanks for your support Vanessa! I guess 100 Mary Poppins’ is better than one right?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment